Lot 242 - 1953 Riley RMF (2.5 litre)
|Odometer reading||73,735 miles|
The Riley RM is an executive car produced from 1945 until 1955. It was the last model developed independently by Riley, prior to the 1952 merger of Riley's still new owner Nuffield with Austin, to form BMC. The RM series was originally produced in Coventry, but in 1949 production moved to the MG works at Abingdon. The RM models were marketed as the Riley 1½ Litre and the Riley 2½ Litre. There were three types of RM vehicles produced. All used Riley engines with four cylinders in-line, hemispherical combustion chambers and twin camshafts mounted high at the sides of the cylinder block. The RMA was a large saloon, and was replaced by the RME. Both used a 1.5 L (1496 cc) 12 hp, developed before WWII, The RMB was a longer car and it was replaced by the RMF, both cars used a larger engine, new in 1937, a 2.5 L 16 hp "Big Four".
This Big Four Riley RMF is presented in green over black with contrasting cream trim. First registered on the 10th July 1953, this example started on the button when inspected, and is clearly a well maintained example. Restored between 1999 and 2006, we can ascertain based on the history file which includes countless MoT certificates back to 1981, and a Buff Logbook coupled with a Riley instruction booklet copy. The woodwork and trim are in restored order and the engine bay a very clear testament to the private ownership of late. Billed as Riley’s luxury saloon, this example is in lovely order and with the larger 2.5 lire engine quite capable of keeping up in modern traffic.